top of page
Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurMargot Charbonnel

Badminton World Championships in Basel: Being a volunteer

Dernière mise à jour : 29 mars 2020



Media/press team

Hey you! It's been a while since I haven't posted on my blog. But I managed to find my way back here! I just came back from Basel after a very busy week at the Worlds Champs and I wanted to share my experience.



A huge challenge in a huge Arena!

This is not a regular tournament. Every year, different cities host the prestigious tournament - and represents a challenge for the organisers.

+ For the very first time, the World Champs and the Para-badminton were played at the same time, in the same arena. 2019 was definitely a special edition.


St Jakobshalle is sometimes compared to the Birmingham Arena by some players. This is a huge hall indeed. Both halls have almost a 13,000 places capacity.


I couldn't help but compare the World Championships with what I've seen in previous events such as the French Open (Super 750) and the Swiss Open (Super 300)

Basically, everything was multiply by 10. More staff, more journalists, more photographers, more high ranked players and also a bigger crowd.




Applying to be a volunteer

When I heard the prestigious tournament was hosted by Basel, I definitely had to apply! We don't have the Worlds Champs in Europe very often! Apparently, this is about to change... Find out more here.


I wasn't sure to be selected though. I had a response about 5 months later. And I was in!

My few experiences at the French Open (Super 750) mostly helped me to get in. But also because I showed my huge interest and willingness to be part of it. A certain knowledge of badminton was also needed.


Volunteers are important to make these events possible. The organisers want it to be a great experience for us even if we have to be serious - most of the time. Volunteers come from all around the world, but for this one, mostly from Europe: Switzerland, Germany, France, and England. I found really pleasant that even if we came from different places, we shared the passion for sport and this is what bring us all together for a week!


To be a volunteer during the Worlds, I had to participate at the Swiss Open back in March. The idea was to make a team that would be ready for the Worlds in August. The Swiss Open was a good practice before the World Championships! It is interesting to see such an event from the inside: It's a lot of work for 7-8 days straight - but definitely worth it.





Media center




Media/press field

From the first time I volunteered in a badminton tournament, I was always in the press field. Writing is what I like most.



I work at the French Open as a writer every year. During the Worlds Championships, I was at the mixed zone. But regarding the tournament, a whole team had to be assigned full time there. When the players came out of their matches, we had to guide them to the mixed zone to the journalists for interviews. We also had to make sure the interpreters were right on time.

We were basically here to ensure the proper functioning of the mixed zone: Allowing the journalists to do their job in good conditions but also taking care of the players. We had to be careful they were respected and not answering questions for hours after their matches! We were the intermediary between players and journalists.


This was a great experience for multiple reasons :

  • Having the opportunity to guide players around the hall and having small talks with them when they feel like it.

  • Learning more about the media and who has priority (rights-holding broadcasters, radios, written press)

  • Being able to watch some matches from the stands all week long and enjoy the games.

  • And most importantly, meet amazing people from all around who have the same passion for sports!




Kento Momota answering questions to the written press



What's next?

I'll be working at the French Open next October as a writer for the English version of the website for the 3rd year consecutive. I'm looking forward to working there: This is always an amazing experience every year.


What about All England? Who knows...








68 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page